What is ISTQB?

ISTQB is the International Software Testing Qualifications Board.  It is composed of representatives from each existing national board, such as the ASTQB, the American Software Testing Qualifications Board. The ISTQB decides on the standards for certification and accreditation as an ISTQB accredited training provider. Working parties within ISTQB are responsible for developing and maintaining the various software testing syllabi and exams. As with ASTQB, all members are volunteers. See why you should only register for your ISTQB exam through ASTQB.

What is the ISTQB full form?

The full form of ISTQB is “International Software Testing Qualifications Board”.

How did ISTQB certification start?

At both the Foundation Level and the Advanced Level, the programs supporting the ISTQB Certified Tester bridge the gap between research, standard training and industry practice.

In Europe, industry demand pushed the development of this certification program. The program has been introduced in the U.S. to truly internationalize it and to satisfy industry demand for an internationally recognized certification, which now is an industry standard in many other countries already. The success of the program can certainly be attributed to its transparent structure, volunteer and non-profit character, and the representation of national interests through national boards.

What is the ISTQB Certified Tester program?

The ISTQB Certified Tester program provides certification for software testers internationally. There are currently two levels of certification: The Foundation Level and the Advanced Level certificates. For both levels, international working parties develop and maintain internationally uniform curricula and exams. One of the core principles of the program is a strict separation between the administration of exams and the training to those who would like to prepare for the exam in ISTQB compliant courses.

What does an ISTQB certificate tell me about the skills of a software tester?

The Foundation Level exam tests for knowledge, not skill. It provides information about the certificate holder’s level of familiarity with the most common concepts of software testing and the associated terminology. It does not require work experience. The Foundation Level exam is a stepping stone toward the Advanced Level, which is more in-depth and much more practice-oriented. Foundation Level: Knowledge. Advanced Level: Skill.

Trademark Information

ISTQB® is a registered trademark of the International Software Testing Qualifications Board.